Author Topic: Snowfall forecasts for the 2008 season  (Read 3964 times)

Offline Karina Roberts (slavegirl)

• Multi-vortex F1
Snowfall forecasts for the 2008 season
« on: 08 May 2008, 04:45:20 AM »
Hi,
I am going snowboarding at the end of July this year and was wondering if anyone knows whether this season will be a good one or not. It was good to have a look at the cams and see the early snowfall blanketing the slopes but of course the bulk of that has melted away now. I am relatively new to snow and learning the weather systems that predict a good snowfall so any helpful information would be much appreciated.

Cheers'
Karina
The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people don't care that your not tattooed. - Wildfire tattoos

Offline Michael Bath

• storm chaser
  • Administrator
  • Wedge tornado F5
    • Australian Severe Weather
RE: Snowfall forecasts for the 2008 season
« Reply #1 on: 09 May 2008, 01:46:37 AM »
There are some independent forecasts of the snow season ahead available here:

http://www.holtonweather.com/article2.htm

I have no info about how good these forecasts are but at least they are not put out by the resorts who claim above average every year !
regards, Michael

Australian Severe Weather:   http://australiasevereweather.com/
Lightning Photography:   http://www.lightningphotography.com/
Early Warning Network: http://www.ewn.com.au

Offline Peter J

• Stove pipe F3
  • Lets go get em boys!
Re: Snowfall forecasts for the 2008 season
« Reply #2 on: 09 May 2008, 06:16:20 AM »
If the precursor weather is any indication, then we should get a bumper snow year, but it all depends on whether we get any antarctic blast type cold fronts in the early part of the snow season. Usually, by the second week of June, one of these fronts should have gone through Melbourne. If so, then snow season will be excellent. If not, then we may not get that great a season.

(just from anecdotal experience)
Big Pete